San Francisco Department of the Environment

Yerba Buena Island Monthly Habitat Restoration

The Treasure Island Development Authority (TIDA) and San Francisco Department of Environment (SFE) have proudly established the Yerba Buena Island Public Stewardship Program, hosting monthly public Habitat Restoration Volunteer Days on Yerba Buena Island and also offering special opportunities for school field trips, group and corporate stewardship volunteer experiences, and more!

The Yerba Buena Island Habitat Management Plan (HMP) calls for ongoing volunteer stewardship as well as contracted technical natural areas management of Yerba Buena Island's Natural Areas. As part of HMP implementation, this Public Stewardship Program offers individuals and groups an opportunity to perform hands-on volunteer stewardship and maintenance of Yerba Buena Island's outstanding Natural Areas.  The opportunities available are suitable for all ages and abilities.

When: Third Wednesday of every month; 1 PM to 3 PM
Where: Yerba Buena Island Quarters 10 Park and Clipper Cove Beach, 510 Treasure Island Road (at Macalla Road) 
What: Volunteer work party guided by SF Environment's Biodiversity Coordinator and TIDA staff. Work includes using hand tools to plant native species, remove invasive plants and restore native plant habit, Clipper Cove Beach cleanup.  All ages and abilities welcome!

All 2019 dates: Repeats every month on the third Wednesday of every month

  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, August 21, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, September 18, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, December 18, 2019 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm

 

Our home. Our city. Our planet.