Resolution Commending Rose Hillson

Environmental policy and legislation in San Francisco

[Resolution Commending Rose Hillson]

Resolution commending Rose Hillson for her service and dedication to the Urban Forestry Council.

WHEREAS, Rose Hillson’s love for trees and arboriculture was demonstrated when she nominated her own Manzanita tree for landmark status; and, 

WHEREAS, Rose Hillson furthered her support for the urban forest by volunteering for the Urban Forestry Council following the designation of her Manzanita as an official San Francisco Landmark Tree; and, 

WHEREAS, Rose Hillson was appointed by the San Francisco Board of Supervisors to serve as their community representative to the UFC from March 30, 2010 and was subsequently reappointed three times until ending her service in 2017; and,

WHEREAS, Rose Hillson served on the landmark tree committee from April 10, 2012 until the end of her service on the UFC; and,

WHEREAS, Rose Hillson served on the Landmark Tree Committee since September 14, 2010 and in a critical leadership role on the UFC as the Landmark Tree Committee Vice Chair in May 27, 2011 and was subsequently elected as Chair from April 10, 2012 until July 9, 2016; and,

WHEREAS, Rose Hillson has been one of the most dedicated UFC members, consistently providing a deep level of engagement for the many projects she contributed her time to; therefore be it

RESOLVED, The Urban Forestry Council extends its deepest gratitude to Rose Hillson; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Urban Forestry Council commends Rose Hillson for her dedication to the Urban Forestry Council and to improving San Francisco’s urban forest; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Urban Forestry Council wishes Rose Hillson, and her beloved Landmark Manzanita, well in the future.  

I hereby certify that this Resolution was adopted at the Urban Forestry Council’s Regular Meeting on February 28, 2017.

Anthony Valdez, Commission Affairs Manager                  Dan Flanagan, Council Chair

Vote:              10-0 Approved

Ayes:              Members Flanagan, Short, Carter, Crawford, Hillan, Hillson, Kida, Michael Sullivan, Swae, Taylor.

Noes:             None

Absent:          Members Lacan, Lowman, Manzone and Andrew Sullivan.